Today’s Game Preview: Thursday, July 27th


Custom Text

Somerset Patriots (10-8, 52-36) vs. Southern Maryland Blue Crabs (8-11, 46-42)

Game #89 * Thursday, July 27th * 7:05 pm ET * TD Bank Ballpark * Bridgewater, New Jersey

On The Air: WCTC-AM 1450;; Twitter: @SOMPatriots @MarcSchwartz26 @ChrisDrabik

Series at a Glance

Tuesday (7:05 pm) SOM def. SMD 3-2; Nieves strikes out season-high 8; Three-run ninth inning rally off Epply wins it
Wednesday (11:05 am) SOM def. SMD 1-0; Antonini retires 10 of 11 in Patriots debut; Roller walk-off single in the 8th
Wednesday (7:05 pm) SOM def. SMD 7-3; Oliver ties season-high with nine strikeouts; four-run fourth inning leads way
Thursday (7:05 pm) SOM [RHP] Lucas Irvine (7-2, 3.84 ERA) vs. SMD [RHP] Brian Grening (7-4, 3.03 ERA)

Click here to view today’s complete game notes: GameNotes727

PROMOTION-A-PALOOZA: 2017 has featured three different Patriots earning a promotion to MLB clubs, tying a franchise record (‘08): OF Chris Marrero (SFG), RHP Tyler Cloyd (SEA) & LHP Nik Turley (MIN). Marrero played in 37 games here in 2015, Turley appeared in 10 games (8 GS) in 2016 & Cloyd made three starts in 2017, earning his call-up just 27 days after his last Somerset appearance. There has been a record 19 Patriots to reach the majors after playing in Somerset.

CONGRATS ARE IN ORDER: 14 Patriots have had their contracts purchased in 2017: 10 by MLB organizations. LHPs Jeremy Bleich, Logan Darnell (twice) & Aaron Laffey along w/ RHPs Tyler Cloyd, Ryan Kelly, Vin Mazzaro, Mitch Atkins, OF Jerry Sands & INF Tyler Bortnick had their contracts’ purchased this season. LHP Rick Teasley (Taiwan), INF Olmo Rosario (twice, Mexico) and RHP Scott McGregor (Taiwan) also had their contracts’ purchased earlier this season.

MERRY CLINCH-MAS: Having won the first half Liberty Division Championship, the Somerset Patriots have clinched a playoff berth and have now won an Atlantic League-record 18 half championships, including eight first-half championships.

ALL THE STARS: A league-high eight SOM players were selected to the All-Star Game: RHP David Kubiak, LHPs Rick Teasley & Duane Below, C Yovan Gonzalez, INFs Carlos Guzman & Tyler Bortnick, & OFs Aharon Eggleston & Justin Pacchioli.

ALFREDO EN FUEGO: INF Alfredo Rodriguez recently snapped a 20-game on-base streak (hits in 19 of 20), and an 11-game hit streak. Over his last 24 games now, he is batting .355 (33-for-93), raising his average from .168 to .243.

ROLLING IN THE DEEP: Kyle Roller has reached base in 35 of his last 38 games (hits in 31-of-38). Over that stretch, Roller is 50-for-142 (.352) with 12 home runs, 36 RBI, 32 runs scored & 24 walks. He also recently became the 2nd Patriot ever to record a cycle and the 5th to record eight RBI in a game (6/28).

MORE THAN LUKE-WARM: RHP Lucas Irvine has strung together four-straight quality starts, including six scoreless innings with one hit on 7/16. Over this stretch, Irvine has allowed just four runs over 26.2 IP (1.35 ERA), lowering his season-ERA from 4.91 to 3.84. He has won four of his last six starts, including a nine-strikeout performance (6/24), and tied for first on the team in wins (7).

STARTING OFF RIGHT: Over the first six games of this seven-game homestand, Patriots starting pitchers have allowed just seven earned runs over 32.2 innings (1.93 ERA) with 31 strikeouts and just seven walks.

WALK IT OFF: Somerset has enjoyed 10 walk-off wins this season, including back-to-back winners from Scott Kelly and Kyle Roller from 7/25 – 7/26. Yovan Gonzalez is responsible for four of the 10 winners, including a walk-off solo home run on Opening Night, while Kelly has pitched in a pair of game-winning base hits.

MyRewards Code: Enter ocean city 17 into the Patriots Mobile App to earn MyRewards points!

TOP 20: All season long, the Somerset Patriots will be unveiling their Top 20 players in franchise history. OF Michael Warner was just named the 8th greatest Patriot of all time. Follow along all season to find out who will join him!


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.